Journal Information


Rhetoric, Politics, and Culture (RPC) embraces a pluralistic approach to rhetorical scholarship. The journal is open to a variety of methodological approaches, from close textual and/or historical analysis to critical/cultural, ethnographic, performative, artistic, and/or theoretical work. The journal invites scholarship on rhetorics of marginalization, structure, materiality, and power; politics, advocacy, and activism; and beyond. Foremost to its mission is featuring perspectives that question in/justice, in/equity, power, and democracy and that attend to interlocking structures of power within their geopolitical and historical contexts. This journal also invites rhetorical scholarship that archives, documents, theorizes, or participates in forms of individual and collective public interventions, advocacy, activism, and resistance to such structures.

Carmen Kynard is the Lillian Radford Chair in Rhetoric and Composition and professor of English at Texas Christian University. She traces her research and teaching at “Education, Liberation, and Black Radical Traditions” (

Bryan J. McCann is associate professor in the department of Communication Studies at Louisiana State University. His publications include The Mark of Criminality: Rhetoric, Race, and Gangsta Rap in the War-on-Crime Era (University of Alabama Press, 2017).


We are now accepting donations toward RPC‘s start-up fund! Click the button below to donate via MSU’s online giving page.


Sponsoring Members

RPC Sponsoring Members

Rhetoric, Politics & Culture and MSU Press would like to thank the following departments, institutions, and individuals for their generous support of RPC’s launch.

Total donations to date: $50,089

Each year, on this page, we will list the total annual expense incurred by the press to produce the journal. Production costs include author honorariums, copyediting, typesetting, online hosting, and subscription management.

Note: Due to Michigan’s stay-at-home order, our offices are closed and there have been some delays in receiving mail, including any donations recently sent by check. As such, the following list may not be completely up-to-date. We will continue to update it as more information becomes available.

Up to $1,000

Department of Communication, University of Pittsburgh

Department of Communication, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Department of Communication Studies, Gustavus Adolphus College

Department of Communication Studies, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Department of Writing Studies, Rhetoric, and Composition, Syracuse University

National Communication Association

Texas A&M University

University of Minnesota

University of Montana

University of Washington

Up to $3,000

Colorado State University

Department of Communication & Film, University of Memphis 

Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies, Syracuse University

Department of Communication Studies, Northwestern University

Department of Communication Studies, University of Kansas

Northeastern University

University of Texas at Austin

University of Wisconsin-Madison

More than $3,000

Bryan Crable, Waterhouse Family Institute, Villanova University

Department of Communication Arts & Sciences, Penn State University

Department of Communication Studies, The University of Iowa

Other Sponsors (submitted online via MSU University Advancement)

Karrin V. Anderson

Scott Anderson

Rebecca Avalos

Lisa M. Corrigan

Vanessa Beasley

Jeffrey A. Bennett

Caitlin Bruce

Karma R. Chávez

Antonio De Velasco

Rosa Eberly

Amanda N. Edgar

Annee Fisher

Christina R. Foust

Marita Gronnvoll

Leslie A. Hahner

Jenna N. Hanchey

Roderick P. Hart

Megan F. Hartline

Annie Hill

Charlotte Hogg

Matthew Houdek

Jo Hsu

Brandon Inabinet

Seth Kahn

Diane M. Keeling

Casey R. Kelly

Ashley N. Mack

Megan McIntyre

Ryan Neville-Shepard

Christa J. Olson

Catherine H. Palczewski

Valerie Renegar

Eva M. Reyes

Elaine B. Richardson

Abraham Romney

Bradley A. Serber

Claire Sisco-King

Leland G. Spencer

Leah Sprain

Nathan Stormer

Mary Stuckey

Franklin Stuckey

Armond Towns

Sarah J. Tracy

Pamela VanHaitsma

Lynne M. Webb

Anna Young

Fundraising and Organizing Team

We would like to acknowledge and thank the organizing and fundraising efforts of these individuals, without whom RPC would not be possible.

Karma R. Chávez

Lisa Corrigan

Annie Hill

Lisa Flores

Andre Johnson

Jiyeon Kang

Bryan McCann

Ersula Ore

Candice Rai

Mary Stuckey

Armond Towns

Anjali Vats