Michigan Supreme Court Historical Reference Guide, 2nd Edition cover
Michigan Supreme Court Historical Reference Guide, 2nd Edition
This second edition of the Michigan Supreme Court Historical Reference Guide contains the biographies of Michigan Supreme Court’s justices from its territorial beginnings in 1803 through 2015. It includes summaries of twenty top cases of the Michigan Supreme Court, which contextualize the eras in which the justices were on the bench, giving a greater depth of understanding to both who the justices were and the historical significance of the cases they decided. A rich reference for historians and attorneys, this book also includes valuable charts detailing election dates and candidates as well as court compositions (who served with whom); lists of chief justices and the ten longest—and shortest—serving justices with dates of service; and a history of the structural evolution of the Michigan Supreme Court.
Publication Date: March 1st, 2015
328 pages| 8.5 in x 11 in
David G. Chardavoyne has been adjunct and visiting faculty at the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law and at Wayne State University Law School since 2001.

Paul Moreno holds the William and Berniece Grewcock Chair in Constitutional History at Hillsdale College and is the Director of Academic Programs at the college’s Kirby Center.

Early Praise

“This will be an invaluable companion to anyone interested in Michigan history and Michigan law. Interweaving biographies and careful analysis of major cases, Professor Chardavoyne has done a favor to all historians, legal scholars, attorneys, judges, and legislators interested in Michigan.”
—Paul Finkelman, Senior Fellow, Penn Program on Democracy, Citizenship, and Constitutionalism, University of Pennsylvania

$34.95 USD
ISBN: 9781611861556

$27.95 USD
ISBN: 9781609174415

Add to Cart