The Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism

The $10,000 Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism at Michigan State University is one of the largest awards ever established to sustain and advance the study of rhetoric in American higher education. This distinctive award offers this biennial book prize through the Michigan State University Press. Michigan State University Press is privileged to offer the endowed prize through its award-winning Rhetoric & Public Affairs Series.

The Kohrs-Campbell Prize was created through the generosity of Karlyn Kohrs Campbell and the late Paul Newell Campbell, for the encouragement of original research and scholarship ofthe highest quality in the field of rhetorical criticism. The Kohrs-Campbell Prize commemorates the distinguished scholarship and dynamic careers of two of the most important figures in the study of rhetoric and rhetorical criticism, Professor Paul Newell Campbell and Professor Karlyn Kohrs Campbell. Their contributions to the study of rhetoric and their dedication to the advancement of their discipline are made manifest in the many students and scholars whose lives they have touched and whose careers they have helped shape and guide. The Prize will be one of the few major awards in the country seeking to ensure that scholarship in rhetorical criticism continues to meet the rigorous intellectual standards set by Paul and Karlyn. The Kohrs-Campbell Prize in Rhetorical Criticism is awarded biennially at the National Communication Association Annual Convention.

2015 – Creating Conservatism: Postwar Words that Made an American Movement by Michael J. Lee
2013 – Executing Democracy: Volume Two, Capital Punishment and the Making of America, 1835-1843 by Stephen John Hartnett
2011 – Invoking the Invisible Hand by Robert Asen
2009 – Judging the Supreme Court by Clarke Rountree
2007 – The Character of Justice by Trevor Parry-Giles
2005 – Malcolm X by Robert E. Terrill
2003 – Shared Land, Conflicting Identity by Robert C. Rowland and David A. Frank